My Trip Home

I have been home for a week now and I miss my parents so much already! I am so grateful to Shane for offering to work in the store while I was away! If not for that then I would not have been able to go and I had such a great time visiting everyone….and I actually had time to see my friends. I left on Fri March 21 and came home on Fri March 27. We spent the night in Edmonton on the way there and I sure got a blast from the past on Saturday in Slave Lake! We stopped at Wal-Mart to pick up a few things and I saw someone there from my past. In the past she was always there through the good and the bad for so long, but regretfully, not when I needed her the most! I have spent the last three years so angry with her for that, even though I know it was not easy for her because how do you pick your husband and his family over your bff? It’s not possible and of course with those people it would have to be one or the other. About a year and a half ago I wrote her this nasty letter, and actually sent it! At the time I really meant it, but now I am not so sure. I thought that since I lost everything else, then why not our friendship too? I felt that she should have fought harder and overtly thwarted their attempts to destroy our relationship, but then again, I do not know what it is like to be a part of that family and I do not know what I would have done in her place.
 
Anyway, the kids went to DP for 3 days to see their father…it went well, and for that I am thankful because they have been angry with him for too long. Also, the night I arrived my dad was going to this dinner for a longstanding politician in the area. He always supported her and he was being honoured at the dinner. He asked me to go, and I did even though I was so weary from travelling. I am glad I went because I got to see a different side to my dad and I got to be there for him for a change!!  It was a good visit and I am so glad I was able to go, even if I was silly enough to drive all the way back to Foremost in one day!
Leave a Reply

